Training plans

As I mentioned in my recent(ish) life update, I’m aiming to do a 10k at the end of September. I did one at the beginning of July, and I trained really well for it mostly, until my sore foot put me out for four weeks. I still did better than expected given the time off, coming in at under 54 minutes. 

I really want to run a sub 50 minute 10k by the end of the year, so that’s what I’m now training for. I’m aiming for a run/race at the end of September, then plan to sign up for another at the start of November so I should have two chances. 

I created my own training plan based on one from the Runners World New Complete Guide to Women’s Running, and the 10k training plan on Runs for Cookies. I’m running three times a week – once easy, once doing speed work, and once long. The easy and long runs sometimes include a bit of tempo running as well. The speed work alternates between long intervals at race pace one week and short sprint intervals the other week. 

On top of that, I’m doing one cross training session a week on the exercise bike, and one strength session (anything from 15-30 minutes). On rest days, I’m trying to do some yoga. 

Every fourth week the mileage is brought down a bit to give my body a chance to rest and recover. 

If I’m not working on a Saturday I’ll also do parkrun, usually at an easyish pace. The last time I went I volunteered specifically so I didn’t run, as I knew my legs were tired. 

Then, in addition (maybe unwisely) I’ve also found there’s a free beginners running club at Sweaty Betty Leeds, so I’ve been going to that once a week. It falls on my cross training day, meaning I do two lots of exercise but only one run that day. However, it is after work then my speed session is early the next morning, according to the plan. Last week after doing hill work at run club, I postponed my speed session by a day to give my legs a chance to rest. I’m going to have to see how it goes, as I definitely don’t want to overdo it. 

Speed work is definitely my least favourite. However, it’s also a brilliant indication of progress, as last week I did ten minutes easy, then two miles at race pace (aiming for eight minute miles), two minutes recovery, then another mile at race pace, finishing with ten minutes easy. I managed all three race pace miles comfortably faster than eight minute miles, and got a new 5k PB in the process (albeit an unofficial one – but Garmin says I’ve done it!). It felt hard, but i hadn’t even been sure I could do it, so it was a great confidence booster. 


It’s a 12 week plan and I’m now on week five. I’m just hoping my foot remains okay and that getting the insoles helps, and doesn’t hinder, my running!

One thought on “Training plans

Leave a Reply

