First Thoughts on my Miracle Morning

Today I did my first miracle morning session, and so far I only have good things to say about it.

My miracle morning looked like this:

  • silence – I did some deep breathing whilst waiting for the kettle to boil (the first thing I do after getting up and going to the loo is get a mug of hot water with a slice of lemon).
  • exercise (I’m not doing it in the SAVERS order here – there’s no obligation to) – I did a yoga video from YouTube, then a ten minute pilates video from The Balanced Life (it’s part of a 21 day challenge).
  • scribing – I wrote a few things in my journal that I’m grateful for.
  • affirmations – I read aloud the affirmations that I wrote for myself last night.
  • visualisation – I visualised achieving the things I wanted to today (I’d already prepared the list last night), having energy, and visualised my dream career that I’m aiming for within five years.
  • reading – I spent ten minutes reading a book on CBT, which I’m hoping will be useful for my career.

My feelings immediately after the miracle morning activities were:

  • calm – the deep breathing really helped me feel grounded and settled.
  • energised – the videos I did were challenging and I felt like I had done a good workout afterwards!
  • happy – being grateful and writing things down remind me of the good in my life.
  • positive and optimistic – the affirmations and visualisation made me feel upbeat about my day, and helped remind me what I’m aiming for and working towards. They helped me think that I can do whatever I set my mind to. Although I have accepted that I’ll probably never be a professional baseball player, but I’m okay with that.
  • prepared – reading material that will help me improve and prepare me for studying and my potential future career makes me feel like I’m taking a step forward, not just waiting.

I didn’t feel a huge difference afterwards though, just small amounts of the above feelings. Don’t get me wrong, I’ll take that, but I didn’t finish my session thinking ‘wow, I feel fantastic!’.

I’ll share more of the finer details of my miracle morning in another post, but for now, let me just say that the affirmations and visualisation really surprised me. These are the parts that I thought were a bit ‘woo woo’ and less useful, but I had committed to giving them a go. As it turned out, the positivity they gave me translated into a parkrun course PB!

One of my affirmations was that I would be able to run a sub 25 minute 5km by the end of 2017, and that I would put in the training to work towards it. I still have a way to go to this, but for today I visualised beating my current Bramley parkrun course PB (26:43). In fact, I even thought about smashing it. And smash it I did – I finished in 25:29!

Now, the miracle morning has not suddenly made me a faster runner – it is not miraculous in that sense. And there was no reason I shouldn’t have been able to beat my PB – my current PB was achieved when I hadn’t set out to run as fast as I could, but found I was rubbish at pacing myself and just ended up going for it. (That said, when I set my previous course PB of 26:50 I literally could not have run any faster that day). However, the affirmations and the visualisation gave me the positivity, and the energy, to set out to really give it a good go. You never know how any given day will go – you might be tired, there might be a strong wind, there might be loads of people to dodge – so you can never guarantee a particular time. That said, a huge amount of running is mental, not just physical. The mental side of things is what this miracle morning session really helped me with.

So that’s one miracle morning done – I wonder what the rest of my day will bring?!

2 thoughts on “First Thoughts on my Miracle Morning

Leave a Reply

