New year, new you?

So the saying goes. Personally, I’m aiming for ‘new year, same me… with a few improvements’.

I’m at a point in my life where I’m trying to work out exactly what I want to do, who I want to be, how I want to be, and how to be happy as much as possible. Which is a lot to work out, but I’m taking it slowly.

This journey actually started quite a long time ago, as a seed was planted in my head about a possible career change. However, it was September last year when I really started putting some effort and thought into self-development and working out what I want from life.

At some point I’ll blog about what I did over the last few months of 2016, but for now, let me explain what the beginning of 2017 involves for me. I didn’t make any new year’s resolutions but I have made a few changes in my life – some of those actually came in before 1st January though. For example, I think that after eating Christmas food for most of December, I was ready for a few changes before December was even done.

So, here’s what I’ve been doing so far to help me be my happiest and best me:

  • yoga every day – I’ve been following Adriene’s 31 day yoga revolution on Youtube first thing in the morning, and I am loving it.
  • dry January – just for a break after the Christmas period.
  • vegetarian January – actually nothing to do with health reasons, and everything to do with me going off meat a bit. I figured that by going veggie, I’d be forced to be a bit more creative with meals, rather than eating meat just because it’s easy.
  • low sugar diet – I just feel so much better with this. Note that I didn’t say ‘no sugar’. I still have bits of chocolate.
  • lots of veggies – my skin loves them!
  • being more mindful about how I spend my time – less messing around on Facebook, more being present and doing something I actually enjoy.

There’s plenty more to say about each of the points above, and I no doubt will do this in the coming days and weeks. There are a lot of great changes I’ve made in order to help me stick to the above, and in all honesty, none of it feels difficult (although I do miss having a glass of red wine with dinner at the weekend).

I’ve recently realised (although it’s probably been obvious to everyone else forever) that the secret to implementing something to improve your life is to make sure it involves something you enjoy and look forward to. For example, I love vegetables (and I’m pretty sure anyone who is trying to eat more veggies must be able to find a few that they love) so eating more of them is no hardship. I also don’t crave sugar like I used to, so not eating much isn’t really too hard, but equally I’m not cutting it out – if I want cake, I’ll have a piece – I’ll just really consider whether I want it first of all.

So anyway, in case like me, you haven’t realised – to be your best self, make a change that involves something you enjoy. If you want to eat more healthily, plan some awesomely delicious meals to look forward to!

Life should be full of pleasure and joy, so fill it with things that bring you enjoyment!

One thought on “New year, new you?

Leave a Reply

